Lucy's latest update...

General discussion on all labradoodle-related matters - anything not otherwise covered by specific forums on the site.
mizmaz

Lucy's latest update...

Post by mizmaz » 01 Jul 2014, 22:00

Hi all..
I've had a chat with the vet tonight. I held it together pretty well I think. Lucy has a grade 2 mast cell tumour as I mentioned before. Further tests indicate its a high level (I confess I lost it a bit when she started saying this as she apologised for telling me via a phone call). She is seeking referral advice as regards chemo/radiotherapy and will get back to me asap. I have no idea what that will entail (naive and stupid to not ask I know).
It seems that thankfully we are not looking at a significant reduction in life span. She felt years as opposed to months. We have to be vigilant in checking her regularly and the vets will monitor her lymph glands.
It was difficult to explain to my children as I'm not an expert, and they are devastated that she's poorly. So as a compromise we have agreed to spoil her even more than we do now. :wink:
Her itching continues so we are changing her diet to fish and potato based. Wafcol and James wellbeloved have been suggested. She is having 6 antihistamines daily from tomorrow and we have to cut out all treats(that will be the tough bit!)
I am relieved that I found the lump when I did, but I'm scared of the outcome.
Just wanted to say thank you all so much for listening/reading my thoughts.
Next job is to buy some trimmers and tame Lucy's fluffy coat. I hope she will forgive me if I give her a haircut from hell!!!! :shock:
Lots of love mandie.xx
And licks and snuffles from Lucy too!!xx

BEE BEE

Re: Lucy's latest update...

Post by BEE BEE » 01 Jul 2014, 23:10

So sorry to hear your news Mandie our thought's are with you your family and also Lucy Bless her. Please keep us informed how she is getting on.

scooby Dood

Post by scooby Dood » 02 Jul 2014, 06:37