Help, health and hopefulness

General discussion on all labradoodle-related matters - anything not otherwise covered by specific forums on the site.
louisdoodie

Help, health and hopefulness

Post by louisdoodie » 05 Oct 2019, 17:52

Hey everyone, I’m kind of a newbie here although I have posted before a few years ago when my F2 Labradoodle was a tiny one.

He is now 3 years and 6 months and it’s been a rough journey. Louis although being the Duracell pup when we chose him, quickly changed into a super anxious doodle that seems like he has the world on his shoulders daily. If a dog could be suicidal I swear it would be mine.

A few months ago he had a blood test, the vet was sure he had Addison’s disease due to his constant shakes, stress and gastroenteritis but after a day on fluids and a steroid shot he was like a new dog...2 weeks later another blood test showed negative and that his levels were back to normal = no treatment and a slow decline downhill again!

He has never been a huge eater and is underweight, maybe a handful of dry a day if that. I do give him some wet food on occasions too as he seems to eat that rather quickly (Lily’s kitchen) I’ve tried many types of kibble from fish for dogs, wainwright’s, James wellbeloved etc and at present he is on the higher fat Millie’s Wolfheart but again he is sluggish at eating! He weighs in around 14.5kg but he should be at least 17kgs if not more, his hip bones stick out and underneath all his curls his frame is small. He is a standard labradoodle.

At home any noise can set him off, toaster/someone outside/dryer etc. He will shake to an inch of his life, pant and drool then end up with diarreah for days. This shakes happen every other day at least. When he is out on walks he looks like a happy dog but when at home anything can trigger his anxiety panic.