including the UK Labradoodle Register
email: info@labradoodle.org.uk
It is currently 21 Sep 2017, 06:15

All times are UTC [ DST ]

Post subject: Puppy Toilet Training advice
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2017, 18:04 

Hello,

I'm a newbie to the forum. We've just got our miniature labradoodle puppy at 9 weeks (Ruby). We are currently trying to train the puppy to use the puppy pads without much success. Hence the
floor is now covered in newspapers to capture the random places selected by Ruby.

The breeder mentioned it might be a good idea to place the puppy on the pad after she's had a drink or taking her out of the crate. However, she waits on the pad and when were distracted will pee somewhere else. Additionally, she waits until we are cleaning up the wee to go and poo in a different area away from us. We've given her praise on the rare occasions she has used the pad but, not commented about her accidents elsewhere.

Would it be worth getting an enzyme based odour cleaner eg Johnsons Clean and Safe Stain & Odour remover? Has anyone had success with it? Also, is it OK to use on wooden / laminate floors?

Are there any additional tips or advice that might help Ruby to use the pads more regularly?

Thanks...

[img][IMG_0288.JPG/img]

Post subject: Re: Puppy Toilet Training advice
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2017, 23:44 

Hello! We didn't use puppy pads with stout. We made a note of the times he did wees and poos to work out if there was a pattern, if say, there was 20 minutes between wees we would take him outside at 18 minutes. We had a very lovely piece of paper on our freezer showing the times! We used an enzyme cleaner when there was an accident, we hade laminate in the kitchen and carpet in the lounge, I think it was ok on each.

Good luck!

Chris, Michelle & Stout

ImageImage

Stout Puppy Pics:
http://photobucket.com/stoutdoodle

PostPosted: 18 Feb 2017, 09:58